Players' Championship Preview
Welcome Offer banners Welcome Offer banners

Players' Championship Preview

The 2023 edition of the Players’ Championship is just around the corner with John Rahm being considered the favourite by many.

This year’s edition will mark the 49th anniversary of the Players Championship - a competition that has only grown in stature and is now among the most coveted golf tournaments in the world.

How did we get here? Let’s find out by exploring the history of this world-famous golf event.


History of the Players’ Championship

The inaugural Players’ Championship was held in 1974 in Marietta, Georgia. It would move to Texas the following year, before finding its home at the TPC at Sawgrass course in Ponte Vedra, Florida. 

The legendary Jack Nicklaus has won three Players’ Championship titles - a record that still stands to this day. Nicklaus emerged victorious in 1974, 1976, and 1978, cementing his status as one of the greatest golfers of all-time. 

Other multiple winners include:

  • Fred Couples (1984, 1996)
  • Steve Elkington (1991, 1997)
  • Hal Sutton (1983, 2000)
  • Davis Love III (1992, 2003)
  • Tiger Woods (2001, 2013)

How The Players’ Championship Became ‘The Fifth Major’

Despite the tournament’s nickname and status, the Players Championship isn’t actually a major, and its tagline of being the fifth major tournament is pure branding. 

The Players Championship may not technically qualify as a major, but its large purse, world-class course, and star-studded line up rival any golf tournament in the world. As of 2022, the winner of the Players’ Championship receives $3.6 million, a five-year exemption on the PGA Tour, a three-year invitation to the Masters, and three-year exemptions for the U.S. Open and The Open Championships. 

The Players’ Championship is one of the most sought-after and most-viewed golf tournaments in the world, even if it is not technically a major. 

2023 Players To Watch

Cameron Smith won’t be defending his 2022 crown this year, meaning the Australian will not become the first-ever player to retain their Players’ Championship title. With Smith out of the way, here’s a list of factors and players to keep an eye on. 

All-Rounders Thrive At Sawgrass

The iconic Sawgrass course lends itself well to all-rounders who are adept at going short and long. If we look at the previous winners, we’ll find that they all possess strong, accurate drives with nimble, pinpoint shots. Rory McIlroy, Tiger Woods, and Sergio Garcia may be some of the best all-rounders in golf history, and it’s no surprise that they’ve had success at Sawgrass. 

There’s no shortage of top-quality performers at this year’s Players’ Championships - let’s take a look at a few of them.

John Rahm

The hot favourite ahead of the tournament, John Rahm has won three of his six stars on tour in 2023 and is in imperious form ahead of the Players’ Championship. 

Rahm currently has the shortest odds prior to the tournament, and his style of play, form, and experience make this no surprise.

 Rory McIlroy and Scottie Scheffler

The legendary Rory McIlroy emerged victorious in 2019 and the Irishman currently sits behind Rahm as the player with the second-shortest odds. 

McIlroy and Scottie Scheffler are both fresh from respective top-five finishes at Bay Hill, and both golfers are being keenly watched by Players’ Championship bettors.

Tom Kim

Tom Kim is one of exciting up-and-comers going into the 2023 Players’ Championship, displaying laser-accuracy off the tee and excellence on approach. He may not have the tournament acumen of some of the other players, but he remains one to watch and he has all of the attributes of a future star. 

The 2023 Players’ Championship begins on 9 March and will be broadcasted in the UK courtesy of Sky Sports. 





Genting Casino is a leading global casino brand. We provide a premium online casino experience with our huge selection of online slots and live casino games. Genting has been recognized many times for its work in creating fun, safe gaming experiences winning multiple industry awards during its 50 years in business

V: 1.37.0 All rights reserved. August 2021